2nd October 2002

Many thanks to Clark Glassford for tipping off FLP to this news.
See the anthology's "duets & collaborations" section for full release details

Santana Album To Feature Nickelback's Kroeger, P.O.D., Branch, Dido, Others

Following the recipe that yielded sales of 25 million worldwide with his 1999 album, Supernatural, Carlos Santana will feature a star-studded lineup for his next release, Shaman, due October 22 from Arista Records.

The genre-spanning guest list includes rock and pop artists including Nickelback's Chad Kroeger, P.O.D., Michelle Branch, Dido, and Citizen Cope; soul acts Seal, Macy Gray, and Musiq; famed opera tenor Placido Domingo; Latin favorites Ozomatli and Alejandro Lerner; and Melkie Jean & Governor Washington.

Branch is featured on the first single, "The Game Of Love," which is already making a rapid rise on multiple radio formats.

Shaman is produced by Santana and Clive Davis, while Arista Records president Antonio "L.A." Reid is credited as its executive producer.

Three years ago, Santana's Supernatural not only resurrected the famed guitarist's career but became one of the biggest blockbuster hits in recent memory. It featured appearances by Matchbox Twenty's Rob Thomas, Eric Clapton, Wyclef Jean, Lauryn Hill, and Dave Matthews, among others.

Other song titles on Shaman include: "Feels Like Fire" (with Dido), "Sideways" (with Citizen Cope), "Novus" (with Placido Domingo), "Amore (Sexo)" (with Macy Gray), "Since Supernatural" (with Melkie Jean & Governor Washington), "Why Don't You And I" (with Chad Kroeger), "Hoy Es Adios" (with Alejandro Lerner), "Nothing At All" (with Musiq), "One Of These Days" (with Ozomatli), "America" (with P.O.D.), "You Are My Kind" (with Seal), "Adouma," "Foo Foo," "Victory Is One," and "Aye Aye Aye." The latter features original Santana drummer Michael Shrieve.

Source: 99.3 the FOX, 26th September 2002